The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series (Books 1-14)

The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series (Books 1-14) 
by J.R. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Black Dagger Brotherhood is an ongoing series of paranormal romance books by author J. R. Ward. The series focuses on a society (the "Black Dagger Brotherhood") of vampire warriors who live together and defend their race against de-souled humans called lessers. The first book in the series was published in 2005. There are 18 books to date. 
Ward's Fallen Angels series is set in the same universe and has some overlap in characters, but little overlap in storylines. The series has also spawned a spinoff the  Black Dagger Legacy.
This series was the first paranormal series that I truly fell in love with immediately. From the introduction of Wrath in Dark Lover, who fell in love with a half-breed who came in rocked this reluctant King's world. The Brotherhood resides in the shadows of Caldwell, NY. Fighting those who dare to commit atrocities against their kind. The primary antagonist for the Brotherhood is the Lessening Society. To join this dark society, a human must give up his soul to the Omega, have their heart ripped out and then they are infused with the Omega's black blood.  

This world that Ward has created is filled with action, brutality, self-discovery, passion, and love. One by one, the brothers find themselves slaves to the heart of their soulmate all while battling their enemies. The author, along with superstar narrator and honorary BDB member, Jim Frangione bring to life this amazing world. The characters were developed to the point that they felt like real beings. I felt Zadist's turmoil and pain. He was my favorite by far even more so with the birth of  Bella. I rooted for him. But, I also loved the comrade between Butch and Vishous. They sparked some awesome fanfiction stories. If you want a series that is engaging, sensual, action-packed and so well-structured and written that it plays like a movie as you read it, this is the way to go. Vampires have never been sexier than in this series. I still have a lot more to read or rather listen, but I am here for all things BDB related.
Join me and get started on this series by clicking here.   I am looking forward to listening to the next book in the series and continuing my love affair with the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

View all my reviews